Jim’s Place Inc. has been family owned and operated since 1921. Originally, Jim’s Place was located in downtown Memphis. The name “JIM” comes from a man named Jim Katsoutes, who was one of the original owners of Jim’s Place back in 1921. Soon thereafter, Nick Taras and his brother Bill Taras took part in the operation and ownership of Jim’s Place. After 50 years downtown, Jim’s Place became Jim’s Place East when it relocated to 5560 Shelby Oaks Drive, off Summer Ave. Nestled on 2 acres of wooded surroundings, the restaurant was developed from an existing summer home site belonging to Bill and Bessie Taras. Their two sons, Costa and Dimitri, and their son-in-law Angelo Liollio, are continuing with the same pioneering spirit of 85 years ago.
Over 30 years ago, we moved east from downtown, because of one woman’s vision, Bessie Taras, wife of Bill Taras. In keeping with the past, we move east again. Only this time we are expanding. Jim’s Place Grille is dedicated to upholding the same principles and values as were installed in 1921.
The mission of Jim’s Place Inc. is to consistently deliver exceptional service with dedicated employees and using the highest quality of ingredients in our food, thus creating an establishment of unparalleled excellence.
Over the last 85 years, Jim’s Place has become a Memphis landmark and has proven to be one of the leading establishments in food industry. Jims Place East has been honored with such awards as Best Restaurant, Best Service, Best Place to Celebrate and Best-Kept Secret by readers poll of Memphis Magazine. In addition, Jim’s Place East has been voted one of the top three restaurants in Memphis by Memphis Flyer. Recently, Jims Place East was honored and received the prestigious Pioneer Award, given by the Memphis Restaurant Association .
Jim’s Place Grille is dedicated to achieving the same success in the years to come. We pride ourselves on personal dedication and loyalty to our customers.